P06 Users

People need to be set up as users in IMMS in order to use the web client and/or IMMS functions on the mobile units. This page makes it possible to manage the system’s users. Existing users can be viewed and edited and new users can be set up. User administration is handled collectively for all branches and the permission to manage users therefore applies to the system of the entire municipality. It is possible to view/edit the following information for a user:

Aside from the information mentioned, it is possible to perform the following operations:


MAIN PAGE (P06): Users

Element Description
Search field Only users matching the search criteria entered are displayed in the table
“Include inactive users” - checkbox Inactive users can either be displayed or hidden
User information table The following information is shown in the table
  • Username
  • Name
  • Roles
  • Last login (displays a date)
  • Active (yes/no)
The table can be sorted by the contents of all columns aside from “Rights”. Sorting is enabled by clicking on the specific column name you would like to sort by.
User with editing permissions
“Edit” button Shows the “Enter details about the user” dialog box, showing detailed information about the selected user, where the information can be edited
“Create” button Opens an empty “Enter details about the user” dialog box to allow you to create a new user
“Delete” button Deletes the selected user
User without editing permissions
“Show” button Displays the “Enter details about the user” dialog box, showing detailed information about the selected user, but the information cannot be edited

DIALOG BOX (P06.1): Enter details about the user

This dialog box is used both for editing an existing user and creating a new user.

Element Description
IMMS username field Unique IMMS username
Name field Name associated with the user
E-mail address field E-mail associated with the user
Picklist for selecting a language Language associated with the user
Picklist for selecting a default branch The user’s default branch can be selected from a list of possible branches. If the user is not associated with a specific branch, then the value <None> should be selected.
Password field A new password for logging onto the IMMS web client can be entered here for a specific user. The password entered must meet the following requirements for complexity to be accepted
  • The password must have at least x characters (x is defined by the “Security password min length” parameter)
  • The password must contain at least 3 of the following 4 groups: Uppercase letters, lowercase letters, numbers and special characters
  • The password must not include the username
  • The password must not have been used the last x times a password was chosen (x is defined by the “Security password deny reuse count” parameter)
  • The password must be re-entered correctly
“Password never expires” checkbox Indicates whether the password should never expire. If this box is checked, the password will expire within a specific number of days (specified by the “Security password expire time” parameter)
“Change at next login” checkbox Indicates whether the user must provide a new password the next time he/she logs in
“User blocked” checkbox Indicates whether the user is blocked. A user can be blocked as a result of:
  • An administrator has blocked the user
  • The user has entered his/her password incorrectly more than x times (defined by the “ Security allowed attempts” parameter)
  • The user has attempted to log on more than y times (defined by the “ Security max attempts” parameter)
A more detailed explanation of user blocking can be found in Introduction to the IMMS web client.
“User expires” date field Indicate the date when a user expires in the system. If the user should expire on a specific date, then a date is selected in this field. If, on the other hand, the field is left empty, the user will not expire. On or after the selected date, the user will be unable to use the web client.
“Blocked until” date field + “Release” button Indicates how long the user is blocked if applicable. The “Release” button can be used by an administrator to unblock the user.
User roles table Displays a table of roles associated with the selected user. The table contains the following fields
Please note: Role changes do not take effect until next login
“Add” button Displays a dialog box for adding roles to the user (Choose a role and perhaps a branch)
“Remove” button Removes the selected role from the user

DIALOG BOX (P06.2): Choose a role and perhaps a branch

Element Description
Picklist of possible roles Select which role should be added for the selected user
List of possible branches Select which branch the selected role is linked to. The value <ALL> may be selected if the role needs to be linked to all branches. If it is not possible to link a specific branch to the selected role, by default the branch will be set to <ALL>