The IMMS web client (or simply the web client) is used to manage all parts of IMMS as well as obtain information about the status of various components in relation to IMMS. For example, the web client is used to edit system settings, administration of users and transport units, and branch settings as well as generate various reports and handle certain item tasks. IMMS interfaces directly with a Library Management System (LMS), so all basic LMS and IMMS data, settings, and functions described in this help guide apply to IMMS for one municipality.
The web client is designed with a menu on the left side of the browser window, from which the various functions of the web client can be accessed. The main menu includes the following:
- My information
- LMS master data
- IMMS master data
- Transport units
- Items, titles, and holds
When a page is opened from the menu, it can be closed again by clicking on the “Close” icon at the top right corner of the page. Afterwards, the icon is changed to a “Log off” icon, which logs the user out of the web client. To the left of the Close/Log off icon is a Help icon. If users require help on a page, they can click on the Help icon and a new browser window will open with the help text. The icons appear as follows:
- Close icon
- “Log off” icon
- Help icon
To clarify which page you are currently on, the name of the current page and a bread crumb trail are displayed to the left of the icons. It is possible to quickly pull up one of the previous pages by clicking on a name on the list.
General information about overviews
- Search fields: A search field is included for most overviews and tables in the web client. When a search string is entered, the applicable table is automatically updated to meet the search criteria. If you want to reset the search field, the contents of the search field are deleted or you can just click on the icon.
- Selecting a row: You can scroll up and down from row to row using the arrow keys.
- Selection of multiple rows: In the Transport units, Items, and Titles overviews, it is possible to select multiple rows at the same time. If you hold down the Ctrl key while clicking the mouse, you can select multiple rows in the overview. If you hold down the Shift key, all of the rows between two selected rows will be checked.
- Division of pages: In the Transport units, Items, Titles, and Holds overviews, the information displayed is divided into pages. This is shown in the overview itself - for example, 101-200 (672). This example indicates that items 101-200 are displayed of a total of 672 items. The arrow keys next to the numbers can be used to scroll to the first item, go back or forward a page, or jump to the last page.
- Details about: Dialog boxes for editing or displaying details about the selected row can be opened by clicking on “Return”, double-clicking with the mouse, or clicking on the button.
General information about editing dialog boxes
- Close icon. When this icon is clicked, the system looks for any changes and the user is asked if any changes should be saved.
- The OK button: Changes are saved and the dialog box closes.
- The Cancel button: The dialog box closes, no changes are saved, and the user is not queried. This corresponds to pressing the “ESC” button.
General information about picklists
- The * symbol: This wildcard symbol means/is used to denote “any” - in other words, no limitations.
- The <><blank> symbol: A valid code from the LMS, which shows that a line is empty - in other words, the value should specifically be left blank.
On several pages in the web client it is possible to make changes to the overview of, e.g., users that is displayed. This is done using the “Edit”, “Create”, and “Delete” buttons, which are displayed to the right of the overview. However, these buttons are only enabled for web client users with editing permissions. If the user does not have editing permissions, only the “Show” button is shown to the right of the overview. The button provides access to details for the selected item but no information can be modified. Permissions for users are assigned with the help of roles that are set in the web client at the user level.
When a user attempts to log in to the web client, the following are checked:
- Temporary blocking: After x attempts to log in with an incorrect password, the user’s access is temporarily blocked and the administrator is notified. (x is defined by the “Security allowed attempts” parameter). This temporary block is automatically eliminated after a fixed amount of time that is defined by the “Security block time limit” parameter. A user can also be locked out by an administrator. Likewise, when a change is made to the user’s information, any blockage of the user is removed.
- Permanent blocking: After y attempts to log in with an incorrect password, the user’s access is permanently blocked (y is defined by the “Security max attempts” parameter). Users that have been permanently locked out can only be unblocked by an administrator under user administration. Attempts at login while the user is temporarily blocked are not counted in the total number of attempts.
- Expiration: A user must change his/her password after a maximum of x days. (x is defined by the “Security password expire time” parameter). Once this limit has been reached, the user cannot log in without first changing his/her password.
- Re-login: If the user has been inactive for at least x minutes since logging in to the web client, he/she must log in again before the web client can be used. The parameter x is defined by the “Security token idle lifetime” parameter. If y minutes have passed since the user logged in to the web client (during this session), the user must repeat the login procedure from scratch. The parameter y is defined by the “Security token total lifetime” parameter. If a user has left a dialog box open, it can be immediately returned to after the password is re-entered. This is not possible if the user has a regular page open such as, e.g., an overview of titles. In this case, the web client will go one page back and any entries/search criteria must be re-entered.